Über uns

 La Charte VaLoo

Die VaLoo-Charta ist eine Selbstdeklaration. Die Mitglieder von VaLoo bekunden ihre Absicht, sich für ressourcenorientierte Sanitärsysteme in der Schweiz einzusetzen und sie verpflichten sich, nach den gemeinsamen Werten zu handeln.

L’assainissement circulaire

L’assainissement circulaire va au-delà du traitement des excréments humains et des eaux usées en permettant de fermer les cycles de matières entre les lieux de vie et  la production et consommation de denrées alimentaires. Les techniques utilisées pour l’assainissement circulaire visent à minimiser l’utilisation de ressources pour le traitement des excréments humains et à protéger l’environnement et la santé publique. Ces techniques permettent également de récupérer l’eau, l’énergie, les nutriments et les matières organiques après traitement.

Vision

L’assainissement circulaire fait partie intégrante de l’économie circulaire Suisse.

Mission

Notre objectif est de promouvoir l’assainissement circulaire en Suisse en connectant différents acteurs , en informant la population et en contribuant à créer des conditions environnantes appropriées.

Pour atteindre notre mission, nous sommes :

  • une communauté dans laquelle nos membres échangent des informations et collaborent pour atteindre des objectifs communs. Nous mettons à disposition un forum pour celles et ceux qui souhaiteant partager ou développer de nouvelles idées, qui mettent en œuvre des techniques et des systèmes de gestion pour la récupération des ressources, qui utilisent les ressources récupérées et qui consomment les biens produits à partir des ressources récupérées.
  • une source de connaissances crédibles concernant les technologies, les services et les pratiques à adopter. Nous transmettons ces connaissances au travers de groupes de travail, de tables rondes, d’ateliers et de campagnes de sensibilisation.
  • un représentant légitime de l’assainissement circulaire pour les dirigeants politiques, les agences gouvernementales et les praticiens.

Valeurs

Communauté

En tant que communauté, nous encourageons la collaboration et la co-création de solutions, la diversité et le respect mutuel dans le but de développer des solutions spécifiques aux différents contextes pour répondre aux défis régionaux et mondiaux.

Intégrité

Nous sommes conscients de l’énorme potentiel de l’assainissement circulaire dans la protection de l’environnement. Cependant, le développement et l’implémentation de solutions prend du temps. Afin de renforcer la confiance dans les nouvelles technologies, nous nous efforçons d’expliquer concrètement les opportunités et limites de nos procédés.

Sobriété

Nous renforçons l’économie circulaire locale et régionale afin de minimiser la consommation de ressources, la production de déchets, les émissions de gaz à effet de serre dans l’atmosphère et les pertes d’énergie.

Écologie

Conscients des ressources limitées de notre planète, nous nous engageons à réduire l’impact des activités humaines en protégeant, restaurant et rendant durable notre utilisation des ressources naturelles.

Arbeitsgruppen

Le co-développement est une des forces de VaLoo. Ensemble, nous poursuivons notre objectif commun qu’est la promotion de l'assainissement circulaire à-travers différents groupes de travail. Tous nos membres sont invités à participer aux groupes de travail et à apporter leur expertise et leurs idées. Actuellement, les groupes de travail suivants existent.

Zu den Arbeitsgruppen

VaLoo Working Group

Vorstand

VaLoo existe sous la forme juridique d'une association. Notre comité se compose actuellement de huit membres qui se présentent ici.

Kayla Coppens

Projektleiterin bei Aneco und Doktorandin an der Universität Genf

«Ich produziere den Dünger, den ich für die Produktion meines eigenen Gemüses benötige. Ich würde gerne in einer Welt leben, in der alle das Gleiche tun können!»

Als Kayla in einer Wohnbaugenossenschaft in Genf aktiv wurde, war ihre Lernkurve in Bezug auf Probleme mit der Abwasserversorgung und nachhaltige Lösungen zu deren Überwindung steil. Kayla machte ihr Masterprojekt über einen Wurmfilter zur Wasseraufbereitung für die Wohngenossenschaft Equilibre (2017) und wurde Gründungsmitglied von aneco (2020). Aneco is eine Vereinigung, die sich der Rückgewinnung der in unserem Abwasser vorhandenen Ressourcen durch eine dezentralisierte und nachhaltige Aufbereitung widmet. Kayla spielte eine Schlüsselrolle bei der Organisation der ersten Generalversammlung von VaLoo und ist begeistert von der Dynamik, die durch die co-kreative Kraft der Mitglieder erzeugt wird. Sie glaubt fest an die Mission von VaLoo, innovative und nachhaltige Lösungen für kreislauffähige Sanitärsysteme in der Schweiz zu ermöglichen.

Mehr lesen

Bastian Etter

Mitgründer bei Vuna

«Die Sanitärrevolution wird langsam, aber stetig sein!

Wenn er als Kind im Wald Hütten baute, wollte er immer mit dem Bau der Toilette beginnen. Später, nach seiner Arbeit an der Eawag, gründete er im Jahr 2015 die Vuna GmbH, die in der Schweiz und darüber hinaus kreislauffähige Sanitärsysteme baut. Vuna hat Aurin als weltweit ersten Dünger aus Urin lizenziert. Bastian fand es spannend, zu den 44 Gründungsmitgliedern aus der Branche zu gehören. Während diese Sanitärsysteme Fahrt aufnehmen, gibt VaLoo dem bunten Haufen an Akteuren eine gewisse Struktur und Sichtbarkeit. Die Sanitärrevolution wird langsam, aber stetig sein. Bastian will das Netzwerk zwischen Fachleuten, Baubranche, Behörden, Schweizer Sprachregionen und über Grenzen hinweg stärken.

Mehr lesen

Philippe Reymond

Selbständiger Berater, Mitglied der Schweizerischen Katastrophenhilfe (SKH), tätig für UNHCR

«Auch eine Sanitärversorgung im kleinen Rahmen erfordert grosse Visionen.»

Am Ende seines Studiums erhielt Philippe die Gelegenheit, eine Arbeit über die Planung der städtischen Abwasserentsorgung in einer Stadt in Togo durchzuführen. Dort gab es kein Kanalisationsnetz. Die Leidenschaft für die dezentrale Abwasserreinigung hat ihn nicht mehr losgelassen, vom Entwicklungskontext bis hin zur humanitären Hilfe. Die verschiedenen Realitäten waren auffällig: institutionelle Barrieren, den Grad des Engagements der Behörden und die Realität einer Stadt, in der Hunderte von Kleinstkläranlagen nebeneinanderstehen. Für Philippe ist klar: Governance ist wichtig! Er sieht VaLoo als ein Bündel von enthusiastischen und engagierten Menschen, die bereit sind, die kreislauffähige Abwasserentsorgung auf eine neue Ebene zu heben.

Mehr lesen

Vincent Carel

Mitgründer bei piss&love

«Ich möchte die soziale Tabus verstehen und die Toilette zu einem coolen Thema machen!»

Als Student landete Vincent im Bereich der nachhaltigen Sanitärversorgung durch ein Praktikum beim Architekturbüro atba und der Wohngenossenschaft Equilibre. Er war neugierig, mehr über kreislauffähige Sanitärsysteme zu erfahren, ein marginalisierter Bereich, der jedoch voller positiver Aspekte (ökologisch, ökonomisch und sozial) steckt. Vincent transportierte tonnenweise Urin, Exkremente und Trockentoiletten durch die gesamte Westschweiz, was zu einigen ungewöhnlichen Begegnungen geführt hat. Er möchte die psychologischen Barrieren verstehen, die mit dem Thema verbunden sind, um soziale Tabus zu brechen und die Toilette zu einem coolen Thema zu machen!

Mehr lesen

Jonas Linder

Mitgründer Kompotoi AG

«Meine Vision ist es, die Ressourcen aus der Toilette nach der Behandlung wieder als Nährstoffe einsetzen zu können, und dass wir das alle normal finden!»

Im Jahr 2010 half Jonas bei einem Permakulturprojekt, über 100 Bäume zu pflanzen, welche mit bestem Kompost aus der Toilette gedüngt wurden. An diesem Tag habe er entschieden, sich dafür einzusetzen, dass wir diese Nährstoffe wieder in den Kreislauf bringen können. Kompotoi hat über 700 mobile Komposttoiletten gebaut, welche ganzjährig oder während des Sommers in Betrieb sind. Schon seit er 2012 mit Kompotoi startete, hat er mit anderen Organisationen über die Gründung eines Verbandes nachgedacht. Jetzt ist Jonas mehr als glücklich, dass wir einen so breit aufgestellten Verband gründen konnten.

Mehr lesen

Dorothee Spuhler

Ansprechsperson internationale Zusammenarbeit und dezentrale Systeme, Ostschweizer Fachhochschule

«Ich möchte VaLoo dabei unterstützen, ein schweizweites Netzwerk zu werden und dabei keinen Stakeholder zu vergessen.»

Als sie in der Grundschule von Umweltverschmutzung und Waldsterben hörte, fing sie an eine Maschine zu erfinden, die schlechte Luft ansaugt, komprimiert und gute Luft wieder freisetzt. Später wurden die Abwasserbehandlung und Kreislaufwirtschaft zu ihren Lieblingsthemen ihrer Arbeit, ihrer Dissertation an der Eawag und ihr Engagement als Mitglied der Sustainable Sanitation Alliance (SuSaNa) Kerngruppe seit 2010. Heute ist die direkte Luftabscheidung eine kommerzielle Technologie, die weltweit verfügbar ist. Dorothee selbst arbeitet immer noch an Konzepten zur Reduktion von Abwässern und zur Schliessung der Nährstoffkreisläufe. Dorothee möchte VaLoo dabei unterstützen, ein schweizweites Netzwerk zu werden und dabei keinen Stakeholder zu vergessen.

Mehr lesen

Kai M. Udert

Titularprofessor, ETH Zürich; Gruppenleiter Eawag

«Mit meinem Engagement bei VaLoo möchte ich helfen, die Idee der Ressourcenrückgewinnung in der Schüssel gesellschaftsfähig zu machen.»

Als Kai vor gut 25 Jahren zusagte, eine Dissertation über Urinseparierung zu machen, war die Idee auch für ihn völlig neu und überraschend. Während seiner Arbeit zur “Trennung an der Quelle” konnte er mit sehr motivierten und engagierten Leuten zusammenarbeiten, sei es in der Forschung oder in der Praxis. Besonders wichtig sind ihm das Vuna-Projekt, aus dem die gleichnamige Spinoff-Firma entstanden ist, und das Blue Diversion Autarky Projekt, in dem die Teams die Ideen der Abwassertrennung und Ressourcenrückgewinnung für ein Toilettenhäuschen realisieren konnten. Kai ist der Meinung, dass VaLoo uns eine Plattform bietet, Ideen zu diskutieren und Grundlagen zu schaffen, um zukunftsfähige Konzepte umzusetzen. Mit seinem Engagement bei VaLoo möchte Kai helfen, die Idee der Ressourcenrückgewinnung in der Schüssel gesellschaftsfähig zu machen.

Mehr lesen

Reto Wey

Gründer Consulting for Impact, Basel, Switzerland

«Die Zusammensetzung des Vorstands mit Universitätsprofessor:innen, Forscher:innen und Unternehmer:innen fasziniert mich.»

Durch seine Karriere im Finanzwesen konnte Reto international reisen und viel über verschiedene Kulturen und Lebensansätze lernen. Seine Stärke ist es, langfristige Visionen mit kurzfristigen Aktionen zu verbinden. Da er als Gründer von Consulting für Impact in verschiedenen Unternehmen der Kreislaufwirtschaft involviert war, fand er die Mission von VaLoo extrem wichtig und wollte einen Beitrag leisten. Auch die Zusammensetzung des Vorstands mit Universitätsprofessor:innen, Forscher:innen und Unternehmer:innen hat ihn fasziniert. Retos Ziel ist es, den Ansatz der kreislauffähigen Sanitärsysteme in Schweizer Wirtschaftskreisen bekannter zu machen.

Mehr lesen

Geschäftsstelle

Vous pouvez nous contacter per E-Mail

Louise Carpentier

Geschäftsleitung
«Es begeistert mich, alle zu vernetzen und dazu einzuladen, gemeinsam die Lösungen von morgen zu gestalten.»

Louise Carpentier leitet die Geschäftsstelle von VaLoo. Sie ist über ihr Studium Boden und Wasserwirtschaft mit dem Fokus auf nachhaltiger Landwirtschaft auf kreislauffähige Sanitärsysteme aufmerksam geworden. Nun möchte sie bei VaLoo Wohnen und Landwirtschaft über ein zukunftsfähiges Ressourcenmanagement miteinander verbinden. Dank ihren Erfahrungen aus Forschung, Consulting, Freiwilligenarbeit und Projekt Management bringt sie den Verein durch die Stärkung kollaborativer Prozesse vorwärts – denn der Weg von linearen zu zirkulären Systemen kann nur gemeinsam gegangen werden.

Mehr lesen

Gina Marti

Kommunikation
«Ich lerne bei VaLoo immer wieder aufs Neue, wie viel Potenzial in zirkulären Sanitärsystemen steckt.»

Gina Marti übernimmt die Kommunikation bei VaLoo. Davor hat sie Politikwissenschaften und Kommunikation studiert. Von kreislauffähigen Sanitärsystemen hatte sie noch nichts gehört, bis sie zum VaLoo-Team gestossen ist. Der frische Blick auf das Thema hilft ihr insbesondere bei der Kommunikation mit Stakeholdern weiter, für die das Konzept ebenfalls noch Neuland ist. Sie lernt immer wieder dazu und findet es toll, ein so potenzialreiches und zukunftsfähiges Projekt zu unterstützen.

Mehr lesen

Andri Heidler

Politik
«Bei VaLoo geht es darum, gemeinsam Einfluss auf die gesellschaftliche Entwicklung zu nehmen um sie in eine zukunftsfähige und ökologische Richtung zu lenken!»

Andri Heidler ist bei VaLoo für den Bereich Politik zuständig. Er hat Geografie und Agronomie studiert, da für ihn ein tiefes Verständnis der Beziehung zwischen Mensch und Umwelt der Schlüssel zu einer nachhaltigen Zukunft ist. Dies zeigt sich insbesondere bei der Ernährung. Der wissenschaftliche, politische und gesellschaftliche Diskurs über lokale Ernährungssysteme beschränkt sich auf Lebensmittel und lässt die lokale Produktion von landwirtschaftlichen Ausgangsstoffen wie Düngemitteln ausser Acht. VaLoo ist der fehlende Baustein auf dem Weg zu ganzheitlich lokalen und nachhaltigen Lebensmittelsystem.

Mehr lesen

Till-Baptiste Römmelt

Roadshow
«Bei VaLoo engagiere ich mich dafür, dass die visionären Ideen unserer Mitglieder aus den stillen Kämmerchen in die breite Öffentlichkeit getragen werden.»

Mehr lesen

Partenaires

Migros Pionierfonds

Migros Pionierfonds

Der Migros-Pionierfonds sucht und fördert Ideen mit gesellschaftlichem Potenzial. Er ermöglicht Pionierprojekte, die neue Wege beschreiten und zukunftsgerichtete Lösungen erproben. Der wirkungsorientierte Förderansatz verbindet finanzielle Unterstützung mit coachingartigen Leistungen. Der Migros-Pionierfonds ist Teil des gesellschaftlichen Engagements der Migros-Gruppe und wird von Unternehmen der Migros-Gruppe mit jährlich rund 15 Millionen Franken ermöglicht.
engagement.migros.ch/de/pionierfonds 

Circular Economy Switzerland

Circular Economy Switzerland setzt sich dafür ein, der Kreislaufwirtschaft in der Schweiz Schub zu verleihen. Eine Vielfalt an privaten Unternehmen und öffentlichen Organisationen verfolgen mit kreativen Lösungsansätzen das Ziel, die Schweizer Wirtschaft zirkulärer zu gestalten. Das Netzwerk wirkt mit verschiedenen Projekten und Anlässen als Impulsgeber für eine neue, schweizweite Bewegung für Kreislaufwirtschaft und versteht sich dabei als Koordinations- und Austauschplattform. VaLoo ist Teil des Netzwerks und hat mit CES gemeinsam ein Projekt zur Diskursstärkung realisiert.
circular-economy-switzerland.ch

NetSan – Netzwerk für nachhaltige Sanitärsysteme

Der NetSan e.V. arbeitet als Netzwerk für die Sanitärwende in Deutschland. Dazu treffen sich Menschen aus Wissenschaft und Forschung, von Start-Ups, kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen und auch interessierte Einzelpersonen, vernetzen sich, tauschen sich über ihre Arbeitsbereiche aus und arbeiten zusammen an neuen Projekten für den nachhaltigen und klimaschonenden Umgang mit menschlichen Ausscheidungen. Der NetSan e.V. und VaLoo tauschen sich regelmäßig über aktuelle Entwicklungen in der Sanitär- und Nährstoffwende aus.
www.netsan.org

RAE réseau de l’assainissement écologique

Das Réseau d'Assainissement Écologique (RAE) ist ein Verein, der die Werte und Prinzipien des ökologischen Kreislaufsystems vertritt. Der Verein hat über 100 Mitglieder, die hauptsächlich in Frankreich angesiedelt sind. Die RAE setzt sich für die Erhaltung der Umwelt durch den verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit natürlichen Ressourcen sowie die Vermeidung und Reduzierung der organischen Verschmutzung im Haushalt ein. VaLoo und RAE tauschen Wissen unter ihren Mitgliedern aus.
reseau-assainissement-ecologique.org
Logo Kleinwohnformen

Kleinwohnformen Schweiz

Der Verein Kleinwohnformen Schweiz setzt sich seit der Gründung 2018 mit viel Herzblut, Engagement und Fachwissen dafür ein, dass ein Tiny House, ein Bauwagen, ein Minihaus oder eine Jurte als anerkannte Wohn- und Lebensform akzeptiert wird. Kleinwohnformen sollen genauso ihren Platz in unserer Gesellschaft haben, wie Mietwohnungen und Wohneigentum.
kleinwohnformen.ch

Dokumente

Jahresberichte
Jahresbericht 2022

About us

VaLoo Charter

The VaLoo Charter is a declaration that the members of VaLoo shall devote their energies to resource-oriented sanitation systems in Switzerland and commit to the shared values set out here.

Resource-oriented sanitation systems

Resource-oriented sanitation systems go beyond the treatment of human excreta and wastewater. They close material cycles incorporating housing, food production, and consumption. New technologies for resource-oriented sanitation seek to minimize the resources used for treating human excreta and to protect public health and the environment. They also recover water, energy, nutrients, and organic raw materials from excreta and wastewater.

Vision

Resource-oriented sanitation systems are an integral part of the circular economy in Switzerland.

Mission

Our mission is to promote resource-oriented sanitation systems in Switzerland by connecting actors, raising awareness in society, and creating an enabling environment.

To fulfil our mission, we are:

  • a community whose actors share information and work together to achieve common goals. We provide a forum for actors who research and develop new solutions, who implement technologies and management systems, who use recovered resources, and who consume goods produced from recovered resources.
  • a source of credible knowledge about technologies, management solutions, and best practices for resource-oriented sanitation systems. We spread this knowledge through working groups, round tables, workshops, and awareness campaigns.
  • a legitimate representation of resource-oriented sanitation systems to policy makers, government agencies, and practitioners.

Values

Community

As a community, we practice co-creation and promote diversity and mutual respect to context-specific solutions to regional and global challenges.

Integrity

We recognize that resource-oriented sanitation systems have great potential for protecting the environment, but that they are still under development. To strengthen confidence in the new solutions, we strive to present their possibilities and limitations in good faith.

Sufficiency

We strengthen the local and regional circular economy to minimize resource consumption, waste production, emissions to the environment, and energy losses.

Ecology

We are aware that our planet’s resources are limited, and we strive to reduce the environmental impact of our activities through the protection, restoration, and sustainable use and reuse of natural resources.

Working groups

Co-creation is a driving force at VaLoo. For this reason, we are advancing our common cause, scaling Circular Sanitation, with working groups. All members are welcome to participate in the working groups and contribute their expertise and ideas on how we should move forward. Currently, the following working groups exist.

Go to working groups

VaLoo Working Group

Board of directors

VaLoo is organized as an association. Our board currently consists of eight members, who present themselves here.

Kayla Coppens

Project manager at Aneco and PhD student at the University of Geneva

«I produce the fertilizer I need to grow my own vegetables. I would love to live in a world where everyone can do the same!»

When Kayla became active in a housing cooperative in Geneva, her learning curve about wastewater problems and sustainable solutions to overcome them was steep. Kayla did her master’s project on a worm filter for wastewater treatment of for the housing cooperative Equilibre (2017) and became a founding member of aneco (2020). Aneco is an association dedicated to recovering the resources present in our wastewater through decentralized and sustainable treatment. Kayla played a key role in organizing VaLoo’s first General Assembly and is excited about the momentum generated by the co-creative power of its members. She strongly believes in VaLoo’s mission to enable innovative and sustainable solutions for circular sanitation systems in Switzerland.

Read more

Bastian Etter

Co-founder of Vuna

«The sanitation revolution will be slow, but permanent!»

When he was a kid building cabins in the forest, he always wanted to build the toilets first. Later, in 2015, after several years at Eawag, he founded Vuna, which builds circular sanitation systems in Switzerland and beyond. Vuna has licensed Aurin, the world’s first fertilizer made from urine. Bastian finds it exciting to be one of 44 people in the industry who founded VaLoo. As sanitation systems grow, VaLoo gives some structure and visibility to this diverse group of players. Bastian wants to strengthen the network between professionals, the construction industry, the authorities, in the different language regions of Switzerland and across borders.

Read more

Philippe Reymond

Independent consultant, member of Swiss Disaster Relief (SHA), working for UNHCR

«Even small-scale sanitation requires big visions.»

At the end of his studies, Philippe was given the opportunity to do a piece of work on urban sanitation planning in a city in Togo. There was no sewerage network there. The passion for decentralized sanitation has not left him, from the development context to humanitarian aid. The different realities were striking: institutional barriers, the level of commitment of the authorities, and the reality of a city where hundreds of micro-treatment plants stand side by side. For Philippe, it’s clear: governance matters! He sees VaLoo as a bunch of enthusiastic and committed people ready to take circular wastewater management to a new level.

Read more

Vincent Carel

Co-founder at piss&love

«I want to understand social taboos and make the toilet a cool topic!»

As a student, Vincent landed in the field of sustainable sanitation through an internship at the architecture firm atba and the housing cooperative Equilibre. He was curious to learn more about circular sanitation systems, a marginalized field but full of positive aspects (environmental, economic, and social). Vincent transported tons of urine, excrement and dry toilets throughout western Switzerland, which led to some unusual encounters. He wants to understand the psychological barriers associated with the topic in order to break social taboos and make the toilet a cool topic!

Read more

Jonas Linder

Co-founder Kompotoi AG

«My vision is to be able to reuse the resources from the toilet as nutrients after treatment, and that we all find that normal!»

In 2010, Jonas helped plant over 100 trees in a permaculture project, which were fertilized with the best compost from the toilet. That day, he decided to commit to contributing to putting those nutrients back into the loop. Kompotoi has built more than 700 mobile composting toilets, which operate year-round or during the summer. Ever since he started Kompotoi in 2012, he has been thinking about forming an association with other organizations. Now Jonas is more than happy that we could found such a broad-based association.

Read more

Dorothee Spuhler

Contact person for international cooperation and decentralized systems, Eastern Switzerland University of Applied Sciences

«I want to help VaLoo become a nationwide network, without forgetting any stakeholder.»

When she heard about pollution and forest dieback in elementary school, she started inventing a machine that sucks in bad air, compresses it and releases good air. Later, wastewater treatment and circular economy became her favorite topics of her work, her dissertation at Eawag and her involvement as a member of the Sustainable Sanitation Alliance (SuSaNa) core group since 2010. Today, direct air capture is a commercial technology available worldwide. Dorothee herself is still working on concepts to reduce wastewater and close nutrient cycles. Dorothee wants to support VaLoo in becoming a nationwide network, without forgetting any stakeholder.

Read more

Kai M. Udert

Titular Professor, ETH Zurich; Group Leader, Eawag

«With my involvement in VaLoo, I would like to help make the idea of resource recovery in the bowl socially acceptable.»

When Kai agreed to do a dissertation on urine source separation a good 25 years ago, the idea was completely new and surprising to him. During his work on “separation at the source”, he was able to work with very motivated and committed people, whether in research or practice. Particularly important to him are the Vuna project, which gave rise to the spinoff company of the same name, and the Blue Diversion Autarky project, in which teams were able to realize the ideas of wastewater separation and resource recovery for a toilet block. Kai believes that VaLoo provides us with a platform to discuss ideas and build foundations to implement sustainable concepts. With his involvement in VaLoo, Kai wants to help making the idea of resource recovery in the bowl socially acceptable.

Read more

Reto Wey

Founder Consulting for Impact, Basel, Switzerland

«The composition of the board with university professors, researchers and entrepreneurs fascinates me.»

Reto’s career in finance has allowed him to travel internationally and learn a lot about different cultures and approaches to life. His strength is to combine long-term visions with short-term actions. Having been involved in several circular economy companies as the founder of Consulting for Impact, he found VaLoo’s mission extremely important and wanted to contribute. He was also intrigued by the composition of the board with university professors, researchers and entrepreneurs. Reto’s goal is to make the approach of circular sanitation systems better known in Swiss economic communities.

Read more

Philipp Markus

Project engineer at HFS Aqua AG, member of VSA YP board & CC wastewater treatment

«I am keen to integrate resource orientated sanitation systems into the existing infrastructure in Switzerland.»

Read more

Office

You can reach our office by email

Louise Carpentier

Head of office
«I'm passionate about connecting everyone and inviting them to shape tomorrow's solutions together.»

Louise Carpentier manages the VaLoo office. She became interested in circular sanitation systems through her studies in soil and water management with a focus on sustainable agriculture. Now, at VaLoo, she wants to connect housing and agriculture through sustainable resource management. Thanks to her experience in research, consulting, volunteer work and project management, she is moving the association forward by strengthening collaborative processes – because the path from linear to circular systems can only be taken together.

Read more

Gina Marti

Communication
«At VaLoo I keep learning how much potential there is in circular sanitation systems.»

Gina Marti is head of communications at Valoo. Before that, she studied political science and communication. She learned about circular sanitation systems when she joined the Valoo team and her fresh perspective on the topic helps her especially in communicating with stakeholders, for whom the concept is still new territory. She keeps learning and finds it great to support such a high-potential and sustainable project.

Read more

Andri Heidler

Advocacy
«VaLoo is about collectively influencing social development in order to guide it in a sustainable and ecological direction!»

Andri Heidler is responsible for politics at VaLoo. He studied geography and agronomy, because for him a deep understanding of the relationship between humans and the environment is the key to a sustainable future. This is demonstrated particularly when it comes to food. The scientific, political and social discourse on local food systems is limited to food and ignores the local production of agricultural inputs such as fertilisers. VaLoo is the missing building block on the way to local and sustainable food systems.

Read more

Till-Baptiste Römmelt

Roadshow
«At VaLoo, I am committed to bringing the visionary ideas of our members out of the hidden chambers and into the public.»

Read more

Partnerships

Migros Pionierfonds

Migros Pioneer Fund

The Migros Pioneer Fund looks for and supports ideas with social potential. It enables pioneering projects that break new ground and seek out forward-looking solutions. Its impact-oriented funding approach combines financial support with coaching services. The Migros Pioneer Fund is part of the Migros Group's social engagement and is enabled by the Migros Group with around CHF 15 million annually.
engagement.migros.ch/en/pioneer-fund 

Circular Economy Switzerland

Circular Economy Switzerland is committed to push the circular economy in Switzerland. With a creative approach a variety of private companies and public organisations want to make the Swiss economy more circular. With various projects and events, the network acts as an engine for a new, Switzerland-wide circular economy movement and sees itself as a coordination and exchange platform. VaLoo is part of the network and has realised a joint project with CES to strengthen the discourse.
circular-economy-switzerland.ch

NetSan – Netzwerk für nachhaltige Sanitärsysteme

NetSan e.V. works as a network for the sanitation change in Germany. To this end, people from science and research, from start-ups, small and medium-sized enterprises and also interested individuals meet, network, exchange information about their fields of work and work together on new projects for the sustainable and climate-friendly handling of human excreta. NetSan e.V. and VaLoo regularly exchange information about current developments in the sanitation and nutrient turnaround.
www.netsan.org

RAE réseau de l’assainissement écologique

The Réseau d'Assainissement Écologique (RAE) is an association that defends and promotes the values and principles of ecological sanitation. It brings together more than a hundred members, mainly in France. RAE is committed to the preservation of the environment through the responsible management of natural resources and the prevention and reduction of domestic organic pollution. VaLoo and RAE share knowledge between their members.
reseau-assainissement-ecologique.org
Logo Kleinwohnformen

Kleinwohnformen Schweiz

Since its founding in 2018, the association Kleinwohnformen Schweiz has put a lot of heart, commitment and expertise into ensuring that a Tiny House, a construction trailer, a mini house or a yurt is accepted as a recognized form of living. Small forms of housing should have just as much of a place in our society as rental apartments and home ownership.
kleinwohnformen.ch

Documents

Annual Reports
Annual Report 2022